Skip to main content

Macro – Edit table content in view mode (aka inline edit)

Overview

Any user with enough permissions can edit tables inside the “Inline Table Editing” macro in the view mode.

Required conditions to start editing:

  1. User has space permission to “Pages” → “Add” (which is a permission to create new pages and edit existing pages in this space)

  2. Page is not restricted for editing (check page restrictions)

If the user doesn’t have enough permissions, the table will be displayed in read-only mode.

Start editing

There are a few ways to start editing a table content:

Keeping previous content of a cell

Removing the previous contents of a cell and starting to fill it from an empty state

double-clicking into cell

click to a cell and press SHIFT

pressing F2

click to a cell and press ENTER

Stop editing

The cell editing will be stopped by:

  • clicking on another cell

  • pressing ENTER

  • pressing ESC (abort changes)

  • pressing ARROW_UP, ARROW_DOWN, ARROW_LEFT, ARROW_RIGHT

  • pressing TAB

  • pressing HOME, END

  • pressing PAGE_UP, PAGE_DOWN

Save your changes

Please don’t forget to save the changes you made.

Publish changes button

You can do this by clicking on the “publish X changes” button that appears as soon as you’ve done the first change.

A table in view mode with the highlighted “publish changes” button in the toolbar, which appears as soon as the first change is made

Enable autosave option

You can also choose the auto-save function. In this way, all your changes are saved every 60 seconds.

To enable this option, please click on gear icon and select “Enable autosave” option.

The settings menu of the table with the highlighted option “Enable autosave” next to compact theme, auto stretch and row numbers

Editing by multiple users

Please note that there is no synchronization when one person is editing something in edit mode and another person is editing the table in view mode at the same time. When editing simultaneously in different modes, the macro checks what is actually saved in Confluence.

If the current edits do not overlap with the ones we got from Confluence, nothing is overwritten.

If there are overlaps, we show a dialog with the suggestion:
a) Publish my edits (saves your changes and overwrites changes of others);
b) Reset my edits by loading others’ (saves changes of others and overwrite yours);
c) Cancel saving.

The notice that the table has already been changed by somebody else, offering “Publish my edits”, “Reset my edits and load others” and “Cancel”

Bring in some colors

The app displays selected background colors applied to cells in EDIT mode.

Additionally, it is possible to change the background colors of the cells inline. Thereby, you can not only select the colors to be chosen from the field, but also enter an individual code – for example, the corporate colors of your company.

A table whose cells are coloured pink so that they form a heart, showing the background colours of the cells

To use this option, please click on “Сhange cell color“ icon and select one of predefined colors or add your custom one.

The opened palette for the cell colour with the predefined colours and the field for an individual hex code

Discover our Apps for Jira and Confluence