Skip to main content

Weekly view

Overview

The weekly view with time can be opened from the menu in the top right corner by clicking on the three-column icon.

The weekly view of the timesheet opened as a calendar, with the days of the week as columns and the issue panel on the right

The weekly view provides the possibility to check the logged time, change or delete existing worklogs and log new work.

The data is shown as a table, where the column is the day of the week. Worklogs are displayed one below another. Each worklog has the same size, no matter how long you worked and booked. Near the dates, you can find the sum of logged time per day.

How to edit existing worklogs?

Edit start date

To edit the start time or start day of an existing worklog, you can simply drag and drop a worklog in the day or new day. In this case, the time started will be kept as it was defined during the worklog creation.

A worklog being dragged from one day of the week to another, indicated by a red arrow

After moving the worklog you will see the worklog in the respective cell. You will get an additional notification, that informs you about the successful change of the worklog.

The moved worklog now sitting in the cell of its new day

Edit worklog

To edit any other worklog fields, such as team, start time, start date, comment, or spent time, you would need an advanced option.

Please follow the steps below:

  1. Hover on a worklog. A window with the worklog details will appear.

  2. Click on the pencil icon. A modal dialog will appear.
    The worklog details window that appears on hover, showing the issue ZHEN-38 “Sprint planning” with start date, time spent and worklog description, and the highlighted edit icon

  3. Change the fields.
    The “Edit work log” dialog with the fields team, issue, time spent, time remaining, billable, date and time started and work description

  4. Click on the “Save changes”-button to apply the changes or click “Cancel” to close the window without saving anything.

Please note, that:

  • The worklog author and Issue field cannot be changed after the worklog creation.

  • You cannot change any worklogs, if they have been added to a team, where the period is closed and the chosen worklog relates to this period.

  • You cannot change any worklogs in a team, where you are inactive (outside of joining/leaving days).

How to delete existing worklogs?

To delete an existing worklog you can follow the steps below:

  1. Hover your cursor on the worklog. The window with the details will appear.

  2. Click on the recycle bin icon. A delete worklog window will appear.
    The same worklog details window with the recycle bin icon highlighted in red

  3. Confirm your action by clicking on the “Delete”- button or clicking “Cancel” to stop the deletion of the worklog.
    The confirmation dialog “Do you want to delete this Work Log?” with the Delete and Cancel buttons

Please note, that you cannot delete any worklogs, if they have been added to a team, where the period is closed and the chosen worklog relates to this period.

How to book time?

On the calendar view, you can book time multiple ways: by clicking on any cell of any day in the calendar, by dragging and dropping an issue from the Issues panel, or by clicking on the “Log time”-button at the top of the page.

Please read more about the logging process


Discover our Apps for Jira and Confluence