All new: Atlassian's Compass | Mission Control for Software Development - Actonic – Unfolding your potential

All new: Atlassian’s Compass | Mission Control for Software Development

Atlassian Compass


Software development has become increasingly complex over the years. As this complexity grew, so did the amount of engineering output (services, libraries, APIs, and other linked artifacts). The more impenetrable the distributed software architecture became, the more the agility and innovativeness of software teams suffered.

To counter this trend, many software teams are using microservices on distributed software architectures. These are loosely connected services such as tools and frameworks that can be optimized completely independently. This separation of different functionalities offers some advantages, for agile software development. However, the distributed architecture also makes for an almost unmanageable level of complexity. Maximum coordination, communication and constant optimization are required.

The new product Compass from Atlassian offers for the first time a fully comprehensive overview of all development components and teams, and is the complete mission control for your software architecture.

Learn everything about the new tool here!

Mission Control for Distributed Software Architecture

Great news from the Atlassian Team ’22 event: The Atlassian product family gets reinforcement with the new product Compass. This is a platform for all those who have wished for the comfort of a mission control also for distributed architectures. That’s because Atlassian’s Compass lets you see all teams and development components at a glance, which helps immensely when navigating your distributed software architecture.

Compass is the answer to the following questions:

  • Who owns a specific software component?

  • How can I contact the owner of a component when an incident occurs?

  • Are my teams reaching their operational maximum?

  • How can I gather accurate information about component data and trends for reporting?

  • How do I create components that meet best practices?

The features of Compass

To facilitate the operation, maintenance and availability of the software for development teams, Compass consists of three powerful building blocks, which we would like to introduce to you here.

1. Component catalog

The component catalog provides you with a clear interface for tracking the technical infrastructure and the teams involved. Whenever you need to access documentation, important information or components: This is the shared place to build all the software.

Never before has it been so easy to manage all services, applications or libraries in one place – and to track development. In the component catalog, you can see exactly what has been changed in a particular component and what dependencies exist. In addition, you can see at a glance who your contact person is in the event of an incident.

With Compass, you can easily avoid software sprawl. As soon as your team has created a new component, it is immediately displayed. The relations are also clearly mapped.

2. Scorecards

With scorecards, you use a health tool from the DevOps concept. At this point, teams can use scorecards to assess and evaluate the health of their development and improve it based on that assessment.

Assessments are based on baselines, specific security requirements, or your own unique compliance requirements. Using Compass’ scorecards helps you develop and establish best practices for your organization over the long term. Insights on problem components that require action, as well as changes over time, help teams improve distributed software architecture.

3. Apps

The Apps section is an extension engine that enables the expansion of the individualized solution easily. As a result, the software team gains flexibility and agility. This area consists of an open tool chain approach of various SaaS solutions (such as CI/CD, monitoring, incident management, APM and security), allowing the user experience to be optimally aligned with the development teams’ tools.

The Activity feature displays comprehensive component activity updates in real time. This gives you a clear view of all your data from your software development tool chain in a single place.

Atlassian Compass as a guide to getting the most out of your agile practice

Atlassian’s new product says it all: Compass is the ideal guide to your agile optimum. This platform is the added value that makes the difference and will facilitate the daily work of both developers and engineering managers. All relevant software development data can finally be viewed in one central location.

Furthermore, Compass is fully compatible with Forge, the Atlassian development platform. It is also easy to integrate third-party apps for component discovery and data ingestion.

Saving time, increasing performance, and innovating all in one, Compass is your new mission control for distributed architecture.

Get the trial version now!

Do you have any open questions, or would you like advice on testing the platform? We are happy to support you!

Want to
know more?

Contact us to talk to our experts and have all your questions answered.

Request
free offer

Brandneu: Atlassians Compass | Mission Control für Softwareentwicklung - Actonic GmbH

Brandneu: Atlassians Compass | Mission Control für Softwareentwicklung

Atlassian Compass


5
(1)

Softwareentwicklung ist im Laufe der Jahre immer komplexer geworden. Mit dieser wachsenden Komplexität stieg auch die Menge an Engineering Output (Services, Bibliotheken, APIs und andere verknüpfte Artefakte). Je undurchdringlicher die verteilte Softwarearchitektur wurde, desto mehr litt die Agilität und Innovativität der Softwareteams.

Um diesem Trend entgegenzuwirken, nutzen viele Softwareteams Microservices auf verteilten Softwarearchitekturen. Hierbei handelt es sich um lose verbundene Dienste wie Tools und Frameworks, die völlig unabhängig voneinander optimiert werden können. Diese Trennung verschiedener Funktionalitäten bietet einige Vorteile für eine agile Softwareentwicklung. Allerdings sorgt die verteilte Architektur auch für eine kaum zu bewältigende Komplexität. Höchste Koordination, Kommunikation und ständige Optimierung sind gefragt.

Das neue Produkt Compass von Atlassian bietet erstmals einen vollumfänglichen Überblick über sämtliche Entwicklungskomponenten und Teams und ist die vollendete Mission Control für Ihre Softwarearchitektur.

Erfahren Sie hier alles über das neue Tool!

5
(1)

Mission Control für verteilte Softwarearchitektur

Tolle News vom Atlassian Team `22-Event: Die Atlassian Produktfamilie bekommt Verstärkung durch das neue Produkt Compass. Dies ist eine Plattform für alle, die sich den Komfort einer Mission Control auch für verteilte Architekturen gewünscht haben. Denn mit Atlassians Compass sehen Sie auf einem Blick sämtliche Teams und Entwicklungskomponenten, was Ihnen beim Navigieren Ihrer verteilten Softwarearchitektur immens hilft.

Compass ist die Antwort auf die folgenden Fragen:

  • Wem gehört eine spezifische Softwarekomponente?

  • Wie kann ich die/den Besitzer*in einer Komponente kontaktieren, wenn ein Vorfall vorliegt?

  • Erreichen meine Teams das operative Maximum?

  • Wie kann ich genaue Informationen über Daten und Trends der Komponenten zur Berichterstellung sammeln?

  • Wie erzeuge ich Komponenten, die Best Practises genügen?

Die Features von Compass

Um den Betrieb, die Wartung und Verfügbarkeit der Software für Entwicklungsteams zu erleichtern, besteht Compass aus drei mächtigen Bausteinen, die wir Ihnen an dieser Stelle vorstellen möchten.

1. Komponentenkatalog

Im Komponentenkatalog erhalten Sie eine übersichtliche Oberfläche zum Tracking der technischen Infrastruktur und der involvierten Teams. Wann immer Sie auf Dokumentationen, wichtige Informationen oder Komponenten zugreifen wollen: Hier ist der geteilte Ort, um die gesamte Software aufzubauen.

Nie zuvor war es so einfach, sämtliche Dienste, Anwendungen oder Bibliotheken an einem Ort zu verwalten – und die Entwicklung nachzuvollziehen. Im Komponentenkatalog sehen Sie ganz genau, was an einer bestimmten Komponente geändert wurde und welche Abhängigkeiten vorliegen. Darüber hinaus erkennen Sie hier auf einen Blick, wer bei einem Vorfall Ihr*e Ansprechpartner*in ist.

Mit Compass vermeiden Sie spielend leicht Software-Wildwuchs. Sobald Ihr Team eine neue Komponente angelegt hat, wird sie sofort dargestellt. Auch die Relationen sind übersichtlich abgebildet.

2. Scorecards

Mit Scorecards nutzen Sie ein Health-Tool aus dem DevOps-Konzept. An dieser Stelle können Teams den Gesundheitszustand ihrer Entwicklung mithilfe von Scorecards bewerten und evaluieren, um sie auf Basis dieser Bewertung zu verbessern.

Basis für die Bewertungen sind Baselines, bestimmte Sicherheitsvorgaben oder ganz eigene Compliance-Anforderungen. Die Nutzung von Compass‘ Scorecards hilft Ihnen dabei, Best Practices für Ihr Unternehmen zu entwickeln und langfristig zu etablieren. Einblicke zu Problemkomponenten, welche eine Aktion erfordern, sowie Änderungen im Zeitverlauf unterstützen Teams bei der Verbesserung der verteilten Softwarearchitektur.

3. Apps

Der Apps-Bereich ist eine Erweiterungs-Engine, welche die Expansion der individualisierten Lösung einfach ermöglicht. Dadurch gewinnt das Softwareteam an Flexibilität und Agilität. Dieser Bereich besteht aus einem Open-Toolchain-Ansatz aus verschiedenen SaaS-Lösungen (wie CI/CD, Monitoring, Incident-Management, APM und Sicherheit), wodurch das Nutzungserlebnis optimal auf die Werkzeuge der Entwicklungsteams abgestimmt werden kann.

Das Feature “Activity” zeigt umfangreiche Aktivitätsaktualisierungen der Komponenten in Echtzeit an. Dadruch haben Sie all Ihre Daten aus Ihrer Softwareentwicklungs-Toolkette an einem einzigen Ort übersichtlich dargestellt.

Atlassian Compass als Wegweiser zum Optimum Ihrer agilen Arbeitsweise

Bei Atlassians neuem Produkt ist der Name Programm: Compass ist der ideale Wegweiser zu Ihrem agilen Optimum. Diese Plattform ist der Mehrwert, der den Unterschied macht und wird sowohl Entwickler*innen als auch Engineering Manager*innen die tägliche Arbeit erleichtern. Alle relevanten Daten zur Softwareentwicklung sind endlich an einem zentralen Ort einzusehen.

Darüber hinaus ist Compass voll kompatibel mit Forge, der Atlassian Entwicklungsplattform. Auch die Integration von Drittanbieter-Apps für die Komponentenerkennung und Datenaufnahme ist problemlos möglich.

Zeitersparnis, Performance-Steigerung und Innovation in einem: Compass ist Ihre neue Mission Control für verteilte Architektur.

Holen Sie sich jetzt die Testversion!

Haben Sie offene Fragen oder wollen sich zum Test der Plattform beraten lassen? Wir unterstützen Sie gerne!

Wie hilfreich war dieser Beitrag?

Klicke auf die Sterne um zu bewerten!

Durchschnittliche Bewertung 5 / 5. Anzahl Bewertungen: 1

Bisher keine Bewertungen! Sei der Erste, der diesen Beitrag bewertet.

Sie möchten
mehr erfahren?

Kontaktieren Sie unsere Experten zur Beantwortung Ihrer individuellen Fragen.

Unverbindlich
anfragen